Carnival Time

16 Aug

I went to the Lansing Harbor Festival at Myer’s Park with my mother last Saturday and it made me think of all the fairs and carnivals I’ve been to and how I felt.

Carnival Time

 

O, I wish I could be thirteen again–

At carnival time, when the air was smoky

With greasy foot longs and burnt chicken

Or later with Scott when he was feeling jokey.

That initial heightened feeling stays the same:

That expectation that life can still be fun.

Checking out the carnie’s tattoo is still game,

The octopus and Ferris wheel still beckon.

I dwell in possibility*, but mine is altered.

A house of warped mirrors, a fun house of

Distortion. A pathway that leads onward

Or not. Now that I am older I look above

Me for a sign that I am on the right track.

I wish that I could bring carnival time back.

*Emily Dickinson

One Response to “Carnival Time”

  1. claireaperez August 16, 2011 at 2:25 pm #

    I completely get it, great last line. If only we could go back to the magic, just for a minute to have my whole life ahead of me and all its possibility.

Leave a Reply

