In Memory of Joy

3 Nov

In Memory of Joy

I

You went through my life like quicksilver,
A chameleon of sorts, taking one shape.

And disappearing into another.
A Christian in the form of a mother.

I sat on your bed and looked at your angels,
Hearing your stories, and sharing some of mine.
You were radiant and full of hope–
You wanted to be an actor

And star on the Great White Way.
The shining in your blue eyes gave you away.

II

“Weeping may endure for a night,
But joy cometh in the morning.” (Psalm 30:5)

Caught in the tabernacle of my mind
News of your death–the end of one so kind.

Our relationship was so fleeting–
Lost in a time warp, with ne’r another meeting.

At nineteen, you were impressed on my brain–
“Lost in the seventies,” not to meet again.

You moved from right to left, inspired by love.
I saw you embrace the descending dove.

III

My sad eyes devour your beauty, with some tears,
While your picture’s eyes gaze back across the years.

Now you’ve gone though a transfiguration,
But I still see you glow in my imagination.

High up on the mountain, there before me,
Peter, James, and John, extol thee.

Clothed in white, you shimmer before a cloud:
Bathed in light, the heavenly audience you applaud.

(Matthew 17: 1-9)

Leave a Reply

