The Owl

12 Sep

2014-Picture of Sunset over the Notch

Bob’s Lake–Sunset at the Notch

The Owl

 

The owl screeches like a cat in the night–

my nieces ascend the path dismayed.

 

Is it the brown and white owl I saw on my walk?

Or some ethereal creature come to haunt my psyche?

 

He dropped a feather near the wooden gate.

I placed it on the bureau by the door.

Perhaps he came to take it back —

I do not know if I disturbed his sense of self.

 

He could be giving me a message clear

that I should stay away from him or fear

that he will hurt the ones whom I hold dear.

 

Or maybe I feel threatened in my heart,

by emotions of my own that make me start

to see the owl as cold and unforgiving.

to wonder if I will break apart.

 

 

Leave a Reply

