When the asters grow along the road

24 Sep

Asters 2015

Goldenrod 2015

When the asters grow along the road,

I know that fall is coming for me.

She reaches out with pearly everlasting

And verdant goldenrod to make me pause

And consider once more where I am going.

Still I trudge the same direction, with the same steps,

As though I have forever to complete my life,

As though seasons will pass ad infinitum.

She bursts out in shades of brilliance,

Flashing lights to warn me of life’s passing.

Yellow, lavender, white–the most vivid

Flowers come right before the end

To signal sweetly of times movement onward

And to wrap me in her deathly embrace.

2 Responses to “When the asters grow along the road”

  1. claireaperez September 24, 2015 at 12:54 am #

    i like this and notice the end line has changed drastically. Powerful.

  2. Thanks for reading it. We had a pretty quick group tonight. Doug read his speech from last Wed. and I read this. Bill’s usual 3 pages were read. Bill had some trouble with ad infinitum. I’m willing to change it. What do you think?

Leave a Reply

