New Tibetan Learning Center in Town

10 Sep

Ithaca has a new Tibetan Learning Center up on South Hill.  The Dalai Lama, who now lives in India, was not present, although he has been here before.  This Namgyal Monastery is one of five in the world.  In the past, the monks were located in a rented space several houses down from St. Paul’s Methodist Church, the church I attend.  The statue is of the Dalai Lama.  I realize this is not the greatest shot, but I didn’t want to get in the way.

The picture on the right is one I took of Tashi, one of Mom’s nurses, and his daughter, Chime. I’m convinced that one of the reasons Mom is still alive is because she sets goals for herself and tries to stay abreast of new things as they are happening. Tashi’s father was very involved with the construction of the library.

This is Tashi with his son and nephew. The one in the blue shirt is his son who was trying to hide from me. Hie nephew is in the yellow shirt. Tashi has been very loyal to my mother, so much so that she sent out thirty invitations to the opening. I’ve been more impressed with the nursing in assisted living than I am with the nursing in the skilled nursing section. It’s too complicated to explain here, but Kendal charges two times the rent for skilled nursing than it does for nursing in assisted living where Tashi works. My brother and I think the nursing in assisted living is superior.

Inside of Library

This is a video of the dancing that took up most of the two hours we were there.

A young boy named Dawa entertained by first fanning us, then having me fan him, and then playing peek-a-boo,

Exterior of Tibetan Learning Center (Mom in blue)

One Response to “New Tibetan Learning Center in Town”

  1. claireaperez September 12, 2023 at 1:46 am #

    Very neat insights and pics:-)

Leave a comment