Flat Rock as a Child

22 Apr

When I was a little girl,  my parents often took me to Flat Rock, a stretch of Fall Creek located between Sapsucker Woods and the Arboretum section of Cornell Plantations.  The rock there was smooth, hence the name, and most of the water was shallow.  As a toddler, I went wading, and, as an older child, practiced floating in the deeper, five-foot-level water.  There were several places where you could set your butt down and let the current of the creek carry you ten feet or so along the smooth rock.  The water was also fairly clean, since it was constantly moving.  I remember being supremely happy there.

2 Responses to “Flat Rock as a Child”

  1. claireaperez April 22, 2024 at 9:16 pm #

    Nice pic and memory!

  2. Thanks. It’s a very good memory.

Leave a comment